Kansas Drivers Education

Are you a first-time driver in Kansas? Safety is important, which is why the state has put laws into place regarding driver education. Prepare yourself for a drivers license with courses designed to instruct you on the rules of the road. Select from the options below to get started. 


1: Get Started with Online Application Services

2: Enroll in a state-approved Drivers Ed course

3: Take the state Driver's exam

 



Drivers Education in Kansas

A drivers education is not required by the state of Kansas for most drivers. However, these courses are designed to help you learn the rules of the road and be better prepared for the written and driving exams required for getting a new drivers license by the Division of Vehicles. All new drivers in Kansas should study the Kansas Drivers Manual which you can find online or at a local DOR location

About Driver Education Programs

Driver education courses are typically offered by local high schools, but are also available through commercial, third-party entities. All driver education courses must be state-approved and certified by the DOR in order to receive insurance discounts. 

In order to take a driver's education course, you must be at least 14 years of age and have consent from your parent or legal guardian.   

Requirements For Kansas Drivers Ed Completion

  • Proof of school enrollment
  • Proof of high school graduation
  • Proof of receipt of Kansas General Education Development (GED) certificate
  • Complete 30 hours of instructions in the classroom
  • Six hours of behind-the-wheel training with approved instructor
  • Six hours observation in the vehicle
  • Not more than 18 years of age when completing this Kansas Drivers Ed program
  • Parents/guardian must certify five hours of behind-the-wheel practice session done

Kansas Drivers Ed Restrictions
Driving privileges may be restricted by the Kansas DOR for 90 days if:

  • There are two convictions or
  • Two accidents or
  • A combination of one of each

The restriction will be in addition to the one for provisional licenses.

 If the Kansas Drivers License Holder is older than 18, restrictions will apply when:

  • Three convictions or
  • Three accidents or
  • A combination of the above within a time frame of 18 months

Drivers Ed Course Course
Course curriculum includes:

  • Kansas road laws, traffic rules and road signs
  • Parking and reversing
  • Driving at night or in bad/inclement weather
  • Turning at major and minor intersections
  • Driving within the speed limits to avoid penalties and suspension of driving privileges
  • 100 hours of driving is required

Find out how to get your Kansas Learners Permit here.